A Boy And His Guitar – Tony Lucca – Music Monday

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again, there’s nothing quite like seeing music live. Well, last Saturday I got to attend the Tony Lucca show at The Prophet Bar down in Dallas’ Deep Ellum. I brought along my dear friend Kelly and had one of the best nights I’ve had in recent memory.

There were three acts slated for that night: Griffin Schmucker, Zach Balch, and the headliner Tony Lucca.

Griffin was…okay. The drummer was awesome, actually. Everyone else seemed to be going through the motions. They didn’t feel connected to the music. I blame this on Schmucker himself. He was a little too high on the smell of his own “glory” to care about servicing the audience or the music. He was serving his own ego. From what I have seen, that never works out well. Now, he may have just been nervous. However, when you mention you’re doing a charity show, you should know all about the charity instead of being dismissive about it. How can you get people to care enough to come out and spend their money on a cause if you don’t care? Further, he made some snotty comment about the audience not being able to spell his name so of course Kelly and I took out our phones and spelled it exactly right in order to Google him. Don’t talk down to me. Don’t assume your audience can’t do something. Don’t be rude to people there just because they may have come to see someone else. This is how you lose potential fans! Plus, he introduced only himself and his BFF the guitarist. Um, now you’re rude to the band? Wow. No, thank you.

Zach and his band were great, thankfully. Every one of them, especially Balch himself, was engaged in the music. They LOVED what they were doing and it showed. Sitting ten feet from the stage I could feel the drums in my chest. Especially, I enjoyed the two songs that were just Balch, his back-up singer, and a violinist.  The banter was great as well. He engaged with the audience, he engaged with his band, heck, he introduced them all and gave them credit equal to himself. He played to us, with us, and that is priceless.

That being said, Tony blew them both out of the water.

I knew he would, but I was not prepared for how MUCH he would. It was just him and his guitar up on the stage and yet he filled the room. He wove pictures and emotions that were touchable and filled up little corners in my heart. His banter was real and inclusive, reaching out to share his experience with us and make it ours. My favorite song was Anchored, a love song for Los Angeles. I also really enjoyed Fight Song, Long Love Letter, Starting Over, Foxy Jane, and Death of Me. If I don’t stop there I’ll just start listing every song off the three albums Kelly and I bought after the show.

At one point during the encore, when he was singing a song called Always, I felt tears filling my eyes and beginning to roll down my cheeks. Looking over at Kelly I saw that she was right there too. Now that, right there, is the mark of a master to me. He didn’t just fill our ears with joy, he touched our souls.

If that weren’t impressive enough, he didn’t just stand there playing his guitar and singing. He used his voice and the microphone as instruments in and of themselves. I’ve said that music is my drug and my religion. Well, some of the things he did with his voice made me feel like I was flying high and in church all at the same time. I wanted to yell “amen” and “hallelujah” after certain of the vocal acrobatics he performed.

After his performance, Kelly and I nearly tripped over ourselves to buy the three available CDs. As we stood there, clutching our treasure, Tony came out to mingle. I made a couple aborted attempts to speak to him, but was stymied by people wanting photos. Kelly told me to stop being shy and I smiled. When the young ladies wanting their photos were done, I touched Tony’s arm and he turned to face us, smiling.

Now, you all know I am a goof. I say embarrassing things to people who have awed me. So this was the portion of the evening where I babbled my thanks for his performance and that listening to him was like being in church, and how he was part of Kelly’s live show education. He took all of this in with grace and charm, thanking us for coming and for our kind words. He shook our hands, and we floated away, blissful. In the car, I realized that we had neither asked for him to sign the CDs, nor asked for pictures to be taken with our phones. Duh.

That being said, we had a fanTAStic time with just a boy and his guitar.

 

Who have you seen live recently? How was it?

14 Comments »

  1. Cid said

    I haven’t been to a show in way too long 😦

    • Gigi Salem said

      He’ll be back in town sometime early next year, I think he said. Kelly and I are planning to go and I’d love to have a big group go out there.

  2. Mickie said

    I was there. My all time favorite is “It’s You”. Tony has been around since the late 90s. Given his history in the entertainment industry….his willingness to mingle with fans with such sincerity and grace blows my mine.
    Tony is a true artist with integrity that I can only dream of having.
    Can’t wait for his new album out later this month. 🙂

    • Gigi Salem said

      Yeah, I’ve been following him since before he was a solo act if you know what I mean. 😉

      But only casually – Saturday made sure I was a full-fledged fan. Can’t wait for the new album, either. Maybe there should be a listening party? Are you on Facebook or Twitter? Fans gotta stick together!

  3. Mickie said

    I am on twitter…Mickielicious. Don’t laugh.

    Tony is the only one in his genre that intimidates me. Just knowing how long he’s been in the industry and his connections…but opting to do it his own way is remarkable to me.

    The first time I met him I mentioned how I was a closet *Nsync fan. He laughed it off. But I never mentioned them again. But it goes to how those boyband fans grown up and we appreciate and enjoy all genres of music. I hate being judged fr that!

    • Gigi Salem said

      sent a follow request from @gigisalem42

      He’s so inspiring, right?

      I got into a lot of great music that has its roots in that little show those boys were on. I mean, it was such a breeding ground for amazing talent. I never got the knack of hiding the music I like, being “in the closet”, you know? Of course I get judged, everyone does, but the problem is with the people doing the judging. It’s their lack or jealousy or whatever, so I tend to not care what they think, you know?

  4. Vanessa said

    Great review! I know the feeling well. Saw him live for the first time in 2005 and I remember the details like it was yesterday; staring in awe of him performing on stage, being shy and giggly at the merch table, saying awkward thing once I finally got to him. But he’s great both on stage and off, I’ve never known him to have anything but grace and appreciation for his fans. I love when people have their own experiences like this! 🙂

    • Gigi Salem said

      Cool to know! He does have an amazing personal charisma, right?

  5. Laura said

    Really glad you both had such a lovely experience!

    • Gigi Salem said

      Thanks! Would have been great if we’d had advance notice and you could’ve come… but at least we know he’s planning to return next year, so save your pennies! 😀

  6. Nigel Blackwell said

    Glad you enjoyed the show, sounds like it was good 🙂
    It’s been years since I’ve seen a band. In fact, it’s just possible that the last “band” I saw was The Wiggles in 2005. Sigh, life’s so different now I’m no longer a teenager (or twenty or thirty or …). So what’s your favourite track from your new CDs?
    Cheers

  7. Oh, I haven’t been to a live music show in over a year. I love going to a bar, ordering a drink, and relaxing to the sound of live music.

    One of my favorite bar/band experiences was in college. A small band out of Austin, Blue October, came to Lubbock and performed their first record under their new label. I had their earlier albums, but they were independent then. There was probably only 30 of us in attendance, and it was literally like they were playing just for me.

    Guess who I saw a year ago at the last music show that was lucky enough to attend? Blue October at the sold out House of Blues in downtown Dallas. I’m kinda a groupie. 🙂

    • Gigi Salem said

      House of Blues is absolutely one of the best places for live shows. I don’t know how many times I went to one to see Duran back in the late 90s.

      You are going on my list when Tony comes back to the metroplex. I think you’d really dig his music.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

