Fangirl Friday – Captain America (Beware Spoilers)

The First Avenger

Last week I saw Captain America in the theater. It did one of my very favorite things a period film can do. It remained true to the mind-set of the time in which it was set. I get really frustrated with period pieces that feature anachronistic sexuality **cough**Titanic**cough**. Heck, Cap didn’t even get to first base in this movie! Which, I must say, was a breath of fresh air. He was sexy (even as a 90 pound weakling, Chris Evans is gorgeous, but I might have a thing for skinny guys) and brave and honorable. I loved that the only kiss was actually stolen by a woman.

Respect meant something real and tangible once upon a time, as did honor and loyalty. Of course, that’s what Captain America as a character is all about, right? So it would have been extremely out of character to have him shag the woman he loved before they had even had a first date. Sorta like Superman getting drunk in a bar. Ahem.

The whole film was beautifully done from the beginning to the sneak peek at the end of the credits. The colors were lush and vivid. The acting was solid, consistent, and elegant. The script was tight, and flowed well. What? Superhero movies aren’t allowed to be great cinema? Look, critics can moan and bluster all they want about their elitist view of what makes for a good film. Nine times out of ten, I won’t want to see what they see as “great art” because it doesn’t entertain me. If I want stories of unrequited love, emotional abuse, or people muddling through a series of horrible life choices then I have my own memories to look at, okay?

To me, good movies help me escape, give me hope that better is out there. They affirm that good guys DO win and bad guys are obliterated. This film did that. Not because Cap was the paragon, but because there was someone out there who believes his virtues and morals are valid and showed that on the screen. Real life is crappy enough without being force-fed “realistic” films. Plus, the fight scenes and explosions were really cool.

So, what about y’all? What do you want in your entertainment? What movies get your motor revved? Is there a movie you think I should review?

16 Comments »

  1. It was a very good movie. I went to see it feeling a little leery. After some of the really horrendous movies that have been made by Marvel, I was afraid to get my hopes up. But I was pleasantly surprised by this movie. It was well-written, the acting was decent-to-good, the set design and cinematography were top-notch, and it was just plain FUN.

    Next movie on my list is Fright Night, which I’m hoping to go see this weekend. David Tennant, as shirtless Vampire Hunter? YES PLEASE AND THANK YOU.

    • Gigi Salem said

      Shirtless 10? I am SO there!

      Out of curiosity, which Marvel films did you not like?

      • Spider Man 3 was horrendous (#2 was okay, but not great). And I’ve decided that X-Men 3 does not even exist – it has been completely retconned from my mind.

        And you know, let me say a lot of comic-book movies have been bad, not just the Marvel ones, because the Superman reboot was horrible, and Green Lantern was (while incredibly fun to LOOK at), pretty much plot-less.

        So yeah, I love a GOOD comic-book movie, but when they aren’t good, they’re downright terrible.

        • Gigi Salem said

          Hehehe, retconned! Now I wanna go watch Torchwood!

          What is it about those third-in-a-series ones that are so bad? It’s like, they get so excited about how well the first two did that everything goes out the window. It becomes like an entire movie of “little darlings” or something!

  2. I haven’t seen it, but your review makes me want to! All the things you highlighted, like the social norms of the time and values, and escaping reality are all things I love to see in good movies. Oh, and I agree with you that the movies the critics rave about, I don’t often care for.

    • Gigi Salem said

      Go! Run see it! Then let me know what you thought! **claps hands excitedly**

  3. I haven’t seen it, but your review makes it sound like a very enjoyable movie! I have really enjoyed the Avengers films as of late and I’m also looking forward to the big one filming now in Cleveland. I’m not a comicbook girl, but Iron Man hooked me and taught me to not leave the movie before the credits have finished rolling!

    • Gigi Salem said

      Absolutely! And Chris Evans is just… well, let’s just say he gives El a run for his money!

  4. Daniel said

    It was an enjoyable film, but I may be biased. Captain America was always one of my favorites. One of my complaints in recent years about way too many movies its the use of special effects, explosions, and sex to cover up weak story lines and plot holes. Not that I’m opposed to sex and explosions, but they should be a party of the story, not necessarily the story itself.

    • Gigi Salem said

      Agreed! It made me so happy that they were telling a tight story that didn’t have to rely on misdirection or subterfuge!

  5. Jillian Dodd - Glitter, Bliss and Perfect Chaos said

    I haven’t seen this movie yet, but it looks like something I will have to be sure to catch on DVD. I go to movies to be entertained as well.

    • Gigi Salem said

      You will have a new movie boyfriend once you watch it, this “good boy” beats all those “bad boys” by miles!

  6. Suzan Isik said

    I’m totally late to the party on this post, but I did a huge long post about how much this movie pissed me off a few weeks ago. I know he had to somehow come into the modern age and it wasn’t that far off from the comic books’ storyline, but I hate the way it ended. Unrequited love and I are WAY on unfriendly terms. That’s why I read romance. Bad endings just tick me off and then I end up ranting and cussing. Ask Cid. I was livid when I came out of the theater. LOL

    • Gigi Salem said

      I’m sorry it upset you so much. That part wasn’t my favorite, but I don’t know if I’d call it unrequited LOVE. Strong like, maybe. I think that’s why it didn’t bother me as much. The potential for love was there, but they hadn’t even had that first date yet. Then again, I tend to have unrealistic standards when it comes to love.

  7. click said

    If you dont mind, where do you host your website? I am searching for a good web host and your webpage appears to be fast and up just about all the time

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

