Wordsmith Wednesday – Jim Butcher’s Ghost Story

Ghost Story (Butcher novel)

Image via Wikipedia

I love reading. I mean, I’d rather read than do almost anything else. When my friend Laura handed me the book-on-CD of Storm Front, the first in Jim Butcher’s Dresden Files series, I was very excited. Mostly because it was being read by James Marsters. Halfway in, I was hooked. I now own all the books and several of the books on CD.

Ghost Story is the thirteenth book in the series, and was just released. My mom and I both squealed with joy when it arrived from Amazon. Yes, you read that right. My 67-year-old mother squealed like a 13-year-old in anticipation of this book. I’ve read it through once already (in one day), and after I read it again for comprehension there might just be a spoilery review headed your way. Because, like Joss Whedon before him and George Lucas before him, Jim Butcher is my master now. If only I could figure out how to do that in the Star Wars font. Sigh.

What about you guys? What books, or series, turn you into a kid on Christmas morning the instant the get into your hot little hands? What author enthralls and entrances you the most?

2 Comments »

  1. I just bought book one of Butcher’s Dresden series, Storm Front. I’m looking forward to reading it. This should be one series that my guy and I will read together.

    I normally can’t wait to buy the next Women’s Murder Club and Alex Cross series when they come out (both by James Patterson). It takes about 4-5 hours to read the entire book, and they always leave me wanting more. I feel like the characters are my friends….

    • Gigi Salem said

      That’s how I am with this series. At book 13, the characters are family. You don’t like all of them, necessarily, but you’re invested in their futures, know what I mean?

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

