Wordsmith Wednesday – Effulgent

Today we have a word of the day: effulgent.

as per dictionary.com :

–adjective

shining forth brilliantly; radiant
It’s no secret that I like big words. Why use a ten-cent word when you can use a ten-dollar one? Like most writers, I collect words like this just in the hopes of dropping them into conversation, much less using them in my writing. This word comes courtesy of William the Bloody a.k.a. Spike, a vampire character in Joss Whedon’s Buffy the Vampire Slayer universe. I’ve been re-watching the series and this word caught me again, made me smile, so I thought I’d share it.
What about y’all? What are some of your favorite ten-dollar words? Why? What do they mean?
4 Comments »

  1. semibold said

    One of my favorite words of all time is “defenestration.” It’s an unpleasant concept, being tossed out of a window, but I love that someone felt the need to make up a word just for that. Plus I love the way it sounds.

    • Gigi Salem said

      That’s a good one, it just rolls off the tongue, doesn’t it? 😀

  2. I don’t even know how you say that word, and I’ve never heard it used. A word my dad used a lot was “semblance,” meaning something that vaguely resembled something. I try to work it into my writing from time to time!
    Cheers

    • Gigi Salem said

      Remind me on Saturday to pronounce it for you… if you can’t wait, I think dictionary.com has an audio feature.

      Semblance is an excellent word. I enjoy using it and reading it!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

