Anticipation (or, Why Not To Order Online)

I’m going bonkers. Usually ordering stuff online isn’t a big deal. It’s so easy and user-friendly over at Amazon.com that I have a great time. Well, when waiting on a new release, it’s horrible.

I didn’t have much of a choice, though. If I wanted the new Duran Duran album All You Need Is Now, I had to use my coupon and the free super-saver shipping. Believe me, if I’d had the cash, I would have been at Best Buy when the store opened to get my hot little hands on a copy.

But these are hard times.

We’re all tightening our belts and making do as we can. So when I found I’d accrued enough points from research.fm surveys to pick up the album for free, I jumped at the chance. Otherwise, I would have had to wait who knows how long until I could buy it. When you think about it, I really lucked out.

I’m still going bonkers, though. All the other Duranies have their copies and are happily listening to and chatting about it.

What a sad puppy?

Image by Cameron Bennett via Flickr

My copy will come some time next week. We will review it. There will be much rejoicing.

 Until then, there will be frustrated, giddy waiting. Hoping the album will be better than the iTunes download, breathlessly anticipating the liner notes and artwork, I will sit on my hands and try not to whine too much.

What about you guys? What have you had to wait for that made you jump every time the postman went by? Have you ever waited outside a store for it to open on new release day? Please, please tell me now, is there something I should know?

8 Comments »

  1. Catherine said

    Hey, you’re not the only one who hasn’t got theirs. I haven’t got my copy yet, either. But I’m not in a rush. 😉 I must be a bad Durannie…

  2. Cid said

    I ordered some books from Amazon and they came in two weeks after the books were released, which was a week and a half after the author’s signing. I was not – and am not – amused by this. I pre-ordered and got crappy service. Oh well. That’s awesome you’re getting the album for free though!

    • Gigi Salem said

      funnily enough, about two hours after I posted this, the CD came… I laughed myself sick!

  3. Simon and co are going to be interviewed on XM radio, Monday night.

    • Gigi Salem said

      oooh, which station? also, what time? also also, how did you know this before me?! 😀

  4. Does a Russian “Mail Order Bride” count? *smile*

    • Gigi Salem said

      **giggle** I don’t believe you for a second, but yes, I suppose it would

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

