Music Monday – What We REALLY Like

When meeting someone new, one of the first questions we ask is what their favorite music is. How many times have we been answered that they “like everything”? Well, guess what? This is a lie.

Probing unearths a deep-seated hatred of either a genre or a particular artist. Which is fine, to each his/her own, right? So, why say you like everything? As someone who has done it in the past… What? Me? Unperfect Flawed? Absolutely! Where was I? Oh yeah, reasons why we say we like everything.

Well, the biggest reason I used to do it was because I wanted people to think I was cool. If we say we like everything, we’re sure to like what the other person likes, right? How cool is that? Of course, I’d get outed the first time they played death metal or really hard-core rap. I just can’t take it. It’s fine for others, but I just get so violently angry when I listen to it that I get all depressed and… uncool. Of course they, in turn, would cringe when I played NSYNC or Lorrie Morgan. The point is, everybody has different tastes, and that is cool. That’s what makes us awesome, our uniqueness.

So, let’s all make a promise, okay? When someone asks us what our favorite music is, we tell the truth. I’ll go first. It must be pop for me, as my top five artists are Duran Duran, JC Chasez, Christina Aguilera, Elvis Presley, and Madonna. Although I do very much like many other artists in other genres.

So who floats your boat, musically speaking?

10 Comments »

  1. Amy said

    I love musical theater, some opera and Classical (but not others), rock/alternative (a la Muse), and the old glamour rock.

    I have trouble with most country, most rap, and some 20th century modern Classical music. That being said, I can usually find something to appreciate about most music, even if I’d never listen to it myself. I blame my music BA. 🙂

    • Gigi Salem said

      Man I am a sucker for musicals! Favorite episode of Buffy? Once More With Feeling! Really picky about classical and opera, though… although one of my favorite songs ever is “The Flight of the Valkyries” by Wagner.

      And did you say glam rock? For I love me some Bowie… I tear up when I hear “Lady Stardust” every time

  2. Siobhan/Christine said

    But I don’t have a favorite music. It depends on what mood I’m in!

    • Gigi Salem said

      okay, alternatively, what DON’T you like? What is your least favorite?

      • Siobhan/Christine said

        I really, really, really don’t like waltzes. Or polka music.

        And the song about the cake left out in the rain.

        • Gigi Salem said

          There’s a song about… what? Okay, that made me giggle. And yeah, most polka makes my skin crawl. I don’t know why, maybe it’s the accordion?

      • Siobhan/Christine said

        Maybe it’s the way the accordion is used. In Irish music it’s perfectly acceptable.

        And it’s weird that I don’t like things in triple time (waltzes) but I like 6/8 time.

        I am listening to Irish punk right now on NPR, the Dropkick Murphys. I like gypsy punk, Gogol Bordello. But it’s usually background music that I’m not really listening to.

        I like S.J.Tucker. (search StrowlerCon, Myspace) I like most any scifi/fandom filk. Healther Alexander/Mercedes Lackey/Leslie Fish.

        Stan Rogers. Clam Chowder.

        I don’t like Bolero. It drags. It’s supposed to drag. I just don’t like it.

        I like Holst. John Williams got a lot from him. I like Copeland’s Fanfare for the Common Man but Rodeo, not so much. I like Strauss’ Thus Spake Zarathustra but the waltzes – ugh, no. I love the Russians.

        I sang excerpts from Boris Godunov in college and it gave me chills then and still.

        I like Amanda Fucking Palmer even if other people hate her just for dating Neil Gaiman. I wonder if they are still together? I used to read their blogs but now I don’t. I listened to Dresden Dolls (my cousin gave it to me for Christmas one year) over and over and over on the way to therapy appointments.

        I used to like Tori Amos. But couldn’t get past the pig thing.

        Jane Siberry. Speckless Sky. No Borders Here.

        Like with books, a lot of the music I listen to is 20 years old. I search the sci fi/fantasy racks and barely recognize the names. I am more comfortable in the used book stores and find myself buying books I gave away 10 years ago to pare down my collection.

        I love love love Dido.

        And Poe (the singer) – Poe’s haunted CD is to be listened to while reading House of Leaves, which was written by her brother. It is about dimensional portals.

        And I admit it, I like Souza marches. Especially if I get to play them. They remind me of happy things like the Fourth of July and circuses and the mythic patriotic goodness America is supposed to have.

        I think I’ll stop here.

        Wait. One more. George Winston.

        And I hope they gypsy punk/classical music/emo girls trip hasn’t made your head go ‘splodey.

  3. lauradroege said

    Here’s mine (keep in mind that I listen mostly to contemporary Christian music, so most of my favorites are pretty obscure to other people): Chris Rice, Sara Groves, Caedmon’s Call, Derek Webb and Nicholle Nordeman. I just like the folk-pop sound and their lyrics, and sometimes I get writing ideas from their lyrics.

    BTW, I don’t read Christian fiction at all. Don’t read it, don’t write it. So it’s not like I exist in a little Christian bubble…just the Christian music bubble. Maybe someday, the bubble will burst. 🙂

    • Gigi Salem said

      Some of my favorite music is spiritual. There’s a quality to it that is rarely found in secular genres. I also have a slight addiction to Christmas music, secular AND non-secular.

      Why do you think you have that split in written versus musical art? Do you just not care for the one? I find this dichotomy very intriguing!

      **writes down artist names for further research**

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

